California Guitar Archives

Amy Brandon: Intermountainous

Amy Brandon: Intermountainous
With optional fixed media audio file
(Version for six strings)


Print Publication not available

This piece illustrates through sound various techniques used to communicate over long distances (i.e., "intermountainous," or between mountains) such as temple bells, letters delivered by hand, and wireless and satellite communications. It was composed for 10-string guitarist Julian Bertino. This version was adapted by the composer for six strings; the 10-string version is also available. There is an optional downloadable audio file; link is included in the publication.